Promise Zones

Promise Zones are high-poverty urban, rural and tribal communities with whom the federal government will partner and invest to create jobs, leverage private investment, increase economic activity, expand educational opportunities, and reduce violent crime. Through a competitive application process, Promise Zone designees have identified a set of outcomes they will pursue to revitalize their communities, develop a strategy supporting those outcomes, and realign resources accordingly. The first round of designees were announced in January 2014 with new designees announced on an annual basis. Participating agencies: HUD, USDA, Commerce, CNCS, Ed, HHS, DOJ, DOL, SBA, Treasury.
Data Current as of: 09/14/2016

Promise Zones are high poverty communities where the federal government partners with local leaders to increase economic activity, improve educational opportunities, leverage private investment, reduce violent crime, enhance public health and address other priorities identified by the community. Current Promise Zones were selected through three rounds of national competition, in which applicants demonstrated a consensus vision for their community and its residents, the capacity to carry it out, and a shared commitment to specific, measurable results.

The Promise Zone designation partners the Federal government with local leaders who are addressing multiple community revitalization challenges in a collaborative way. The Promise Zone designation will last for a term of 10 years. During this term, the specific benefits made available to Promise Zones will vary from year to year, and sometimes more often than annually, due to changes in the agency policies and changes in appropriations and authorizations for relevant programs. Date : 8/25/2019

Internet Archive URL:*/

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated December 29, 2019, 03:26 (UTC)
Created August 25, 2019, 16:02 (UTC)