Rural-Urban Continuum Codes 2013

Data from the USDA Economic Research Service on the 2013 Rural-Urban Continuum Codes. The codes form a classification scheme that distinguishes metropolitan counties by the population size of their metro area, and nonmetropolitan counties by degree of urbanization and adjacency to a metro area. The official Office of Management and Budget metro and nonmetro categories have been subdivided into three metro and six nonmetro categories, and each U.S. county is assigned one of the nine codes.

The Rural-Urban Continuum Codes were originally developed in 1974. They have been updated each decennial since (1983, 1993, 2003, 2013), and slightly revised in 1988. Note that the 2013 Rural-Urban Continuum Codes are not directly comparable with the codes prior to 2000 because of the new methodology used in developing the 2000 metropolitan areas.

Connected to Sustainable Development Goal Indicator 3.c.1 - Health worker density and distribution

Internet Archive URL:*/

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated February 5, 2019, 23:13 (UTC)
Created May 6, 2017, 19:03 (UTC)